background table setting


Carbine Club member Kerry Chikarovski recognised in Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours.

Kerry Chikarovski was recognised as a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for ‘significant service to the Parliament of New South Wales, and to the community’.  
Best known for being the first woman to lead a major political party in New South Wales when she was elected Leader of the NSW Parliamentary Liberal Party (1999-2002).

As an MP her responsibilities spanned from consumer affairs to industrial relations, women’s affairs to infrastructure. After leaving politics she started Chikarovski & Associates when organisations started to solicit her help to navigate government bureaucracy.

Kerry holds a number of board positions, with her passion for sport evident in roles at NSW Waratahs Rugby Union and NSW Women’s Rugby Union, and she works across several not-for-profits including Adopt Change, the Humpty Dumpty Foundation and Our Watch.

Kerry Chikarovski

CCNSW Member Craig Phillips Honoured for a life in sport

More than 35 years’ experience in the elite sports industry in Australia, Commonwealth Games Australia (CGA) CEO Craig Phillips has today been honoured as a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia, ‘for significant service to high profile sporting organisations through executive roles’.

CEO since 2015, Phillips has dedicated his working life to sport – locally, nationally and globally, including nine years as CEO of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) and as a member of its Executive Board & the Olympic Winter Institute of Australia Board.From 2005 to 2014, Craig successfully led the AOC’s relationship with its 40 member National Sports Federations, the national network of Institutes of Sport and other peak sporting organisations – both nationally & internationally.He has been involved in the successful planning, management & leadership of 12 Australian Olympic (Summer & Winter) Teams – Barcelona 1992 to Sochi 2014. 

Craig’s membership of these teams saw him become the most capped Olympic Team official in Australian sporting history.
Phillips served on the Oceania National Olympic Committees Executive and the Board of the Gold Coast 2018 (GC2018) Commonwealth Games Corporation (GOLDOC) in addition to the GC2018 Sport and Technical Committee and GC2018 Joint Marketing Committee.He is currently a committee member at the Carbine Club of NSW and a member of the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) Sports Committee.

CGA President Ben Houston said being bestowed with a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia honour is a fitting tribute for Phillips.“On behalf of Commonwealth Games Australia, our board, our sport partners and our staff, I congratulate Craig on being made a Member of the Order of Australia,” Houston said.“The Member of the Order of Australia is a fitting tribute for Craig’s three decades of dedicated service to Australia’s elite sport industry and a testament of his passion for sport.“This award acknowledges Craig’s commitment to Australia’s elite sport industry and his passion and focus on ensuring the best outcomes for Australian athletes.”

2021 06 14 Craig Phillips

VALE Keith Free OAM 

It is with great sadness that we advise the passing (31.12.2020) of LIFE MEMBER Keith Free OAM. Our thoughts are with his family and his grandson , fellow CCNSW Member Tyler Martin. Keith was an instrumental member in the foundation of the club in 1977. 

He was a true gentleman with the most charming smile. May he Rest in Peace.

urt Fearnley AO appointed to Australian Team Executive 

Member and three time Paralympian Kurt Fearnley AO will join the Australian team executive for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Kurt Fearnley AO

Kerr and Kane appointed to The National Sports Tribunal (NST)

CCNSW Members Peter Kerr AM and Darren Kane, both prominent lawyers heavily involved in sport over many years have been appointed to The National Sports Tribunal (NST). The tribunal hears and resolves national-level sporting disputes in Australia.

download  Darren Kane

Peter V'Landys appointed Chairman of ARLC

Carbine Club of NSW Member Peter V'landys AM was appointed Chairman of the Australian Rugby League Commission in October 2019 having served on the Commission since February 2018. Peter remains Chief Executive and board member with Racing NSW.

Peter VLandys

CCNSW Committee Member Kirsten Thomson appointed NSWIS Director of Corporate & Communications

Carbine Club of NSW Committee Member, Kirsten Thomson  has recently been appointed to NSWIS as Director of Corporate & Communications. Kirsten has most recently spent time with the Office of Sport as their Director of Communications. 

NSWIS quote “We're delighted to have Kirsten back on board to build organisational capability, drive partnerships, and lead the corporate & communications functions.”

Kirsten was an Australian middle distance freestyle swimmer who won a silver medal in the 4×200-metre freestyle relay at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Congratulations Kirsten on your appointment.


CCNSW Member Michael Crismale joins Racing NSW Board

Carbine Club of NSW Member and Former Club Chairman Michael Crismale has been appointed to the board of Racing NSW for a three-year term.

Michael has extensive experience in sports administration, including as chair of the Australian Turf Club, where he secured TV and digital rights agreements, helping the sport to reach wider audiences and boosting revenue.

He also supported the launch of The Championships in the autumn carnival. His continued commitment to the industry and extensive knowledge will make him a valuable addition to the board.

Congratulations Michael on your appointment.

Michael2 300x300